Firefox for Windows CE

Standard

I’ve had quite an interest in windows CE since Jan last year when I bought my HTC touch windows mobile phone.  I’ve enjoyed modifying it and customizing it and being able to treat it as a cross between a phone and a laptop.

I got into a little bit of windows mobile programming during the spring of this year just to do a little playing around.  So I figure since I am taking the open source course now why not look into what the story is on firefox for windows mobile ?

Well it turns out Mozilla has a project called Fennec which is the code name for a mobile version of firefox.  Windows CE is one of the platforms it is targeted to support.

I’ve had a little trouble finding a .cab file I can download to try out the beta version which is supposed to be available but I haven’t had time tonight to fully investigate (broken link on the project page to download).

I did signup for the mailing list though and I found the information for the weekly meetings.

Meeting Details:

  • Wednesdays @ 9:30AM PST (12:30PM EST)
  • +1 650-903-0800 (US/Intl) x92 conf# 8605
  • +1 800 707 2533 (US) pin 369 conf# 8605
  • #mobile for backchannel
  • Agenda and notes can be found here
Leave a Reply

